Buff Orpington chick question (Picts)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by lilbirdee, Apr 8, 2009.

1. lilbirdee

lilbirdee Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2009
    Ridgefield, WA
    So I finally got my 2 Buff Orpingtons this morning. So exciting! I wanted 2 because I love how they look and I have read a lot of great things about them on here.
    Anyway...I figured they would be identical and I'd have a hard time telling them apart. But I get home and take them out of their box and find that they are a little different. Now I am wondering if this is a normal thing, or does it mean something? Like one is a boy?
    One is a bit larger and lighter colored.
    Any opinions?
    [​IMG]

2. moonflowers

moonflowers Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2009
    Louisville, KY
    Well, I am new at this but if it makes you feel any better I got 3 BOs in and they are all a little different. One looks just like your dark one and another like your lighter one. My third is is even lighter. Looking at the TSC chicks (bc I can't help but look... [​IMG] my poor husband when we ever have more land [​IMG]) I can pick out some of the Buffs and they seem to vary as well. I was worried at first because I thought they'd all be dark and thought maybe I got some of the wrong breed but as their feathers are coming in they are all the lovely golden color and I am very excited.
    Of course, if there is some chicken expert on here who can tell me a certain color means a boy please do, I will have to prepare myself to be torn away from my little loves!

Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
  3. Omran

Omran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2008
    Bagdad KY
    i think it is normal it is way to early to tell, I had 13 of them many were diffrent in colours, but only two were boys.

4. kb010

kb010 Out Of The Brooder