Buff Orpington laid either a shell-less egg or had an egg break inside her

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by NormaEstrella, Mar 30, 2012.

1. NormaEstrella

NormaEstrella New Egg

Mar 30, 2012
    Hello there - this is my first time posting to this forum, and I hope I can get some insight on what's happening with my beloved chicken.

Taloulah is a Buff Orpington, one year old, who just today passed a strange looking rubbery white thing (about the size of a grub, but definitely NOT a grub) and then a minute later passed a broken yolk and white. I'm hoping this is a shell-less egg and that grublike tubular thing was a misplaced membrane. I originally began watching her just minutes before this episode because she didn't seem to have the bright eyes and curiosity about her like normal. She's a bit fluffed up and more withdrawn than usual and has moved into the nesting box and has been there since.

I brought her inside briefly to wash her vent with a warm washcloth, and I also stuck an oiled, gloved finger into her vent to see if there were any broken shell pieces to be found. She made a small poop while I had my finger inside of her and made some noises of discomfort, but I felt nothing in her cavity. She doesn't appear to have a swollen abdomen and she ate a little bit of the yogurt/flax seed mixture I bribed her with.

Her and the other chickens are on an organic layer feed and I provide them with calcium carbonate grit (or limestone grit? I got it from a bulk bin and can't remember) next to their feed (not mixed in with it). Their water is fresh and their bedding is fairly clean (nesting boxes are always clean). They roam around the yard during the day, eating bugs and grass. They have never been dewormed, but I tried giving them some fresh garlic earlier today.