Buff Orpington or Delaware?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by FunOnABun, May 16, 2016.

1. FunOnABun

FunOnABun Out Of The Brooder

Hi there, picked up a couple chicks today to add to my existing flock of barred rocks. The brooder these two cuties came from included barred rocks, brown leghorns, Delawares, and buff orpingtons...I asked for two BOs and while I know one of them is, the second one is considerably lighter, more yellow (not the standard BO golden/copper), and has ever-so-slight hash markings on her emergent wing feathers...she doesn't look exactly like a Delaware but she also doesn't look exactly like a BO...since I have no experience with either breed, can you all help me out? If you need different pictures/angles, let me know.

[​IMG]
    Chick in question is on the right.

[​IMG]
    Chick in question is laying down.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    It's possible that is a Delaware chick, they are a lighter down as this one is, and it does look like some barring in the wings. Delawares are one of my favorite layer breeds, the are excellent layers of lots of big brown eggs, and tend to have great personalities too if well-bred.

3. FunOnABun

Thank you, 1muttsfan. Not the news I was hoping for as I have read some not so nice things about the breed but your experience with them is encouraging. I have two very docile, gentle barred rocks and want an equally docile breed to increase my flock which is why I chose BOs.

4. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    I wouldn't necessarily call them docile - they are very social and friendly with people, active and excellent layers. I have not had issues with them being aggressive with other birds, although they can be assertive, and I always keep at least a few in my flock.

5. FunOnABun