1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Buff Orpington Rooster

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Abril1127, Aug 20, 2015.

1. Abril1127

Abril1127 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 20, 2015
    Tx Panhandle
    Hi guys. My first post. I am new to backyard chickens, been at it for 3 months now. Just figured out my first 3 chickens were actually roosters. Teach me to buy them at a flea market. (ya I know) So I bought 2 more from a farm that had them sexed and now I'm thinking I have yet another rooster.
    Can you help me sex both of these. One is a buff orpington and the other is the pretty one I got from the flea market that I'm pretty sure is a rooster but wanted ya'll to help me confirm it.
    Thanks so much for the help. I hope I start doing better at this. I'm only allowed 4 chickens in the city.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Both are cockerels - sorry.

1 person likes this.
  3. Abril1127

Aug 20, 2015
    Tx Panhandle
    Is it the comb that makes you so sure on the Buff? Trying to learn

Last edited: Aug 20, 2015
  4. bbhorsefly

bbhorsefly Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2015
    How old is the Buff? My BuffOrp boys had red comb and wattles by about 5 weeks. My pullet still has a flat pale comb at 8 weeks. I've been told by Orp experts that a pullet will be getting her comb and wattles closer to 16 weeks.

5. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    [​IMG]

Agree they're both cockerels.

how old is the buff? I'm going off a large red comb for the apparent age, plus the leggy, gawky look. He's also got the start of saddle feathers and sickle feathers, those are male traits.

6. Abril1127

Aug 20, 2015
    Tx Panhandle