Buff Orpingtons

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by MissChessy, Feb 19, 2008.

1. MissChessy

MissChessy Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2007
    Texas
    I noticed a lot of folks on BYC have Buff Orpingtons. What is special about the Buff Orpingtons? Can someone give me a little lesson on the BO profile?

I made a boo boo. I wanted 5 brown egg layers and 10 white egg layers and I ended up with 15 white egg layers. LOL! They are the Danish Brown Leghorns, Production Black and Plymouth Rocks. These chicks are just 2 weeks old now. Would like to know more about Buff Orpingtons.

Thanks!

2. GAhen

GAhen Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2007
    Carrollton GA
    I have two so I am not an expert, but....
    They are good layers of beautiful light brown eggs.
    They have a robust and beautiful fluffy body.
    Gentle and have a good temperament.
    And mine free range very well.
    So ...over all a good bird. Mine are buff...but I have some blue/black/splash eggs on the way.
    I do recommend them highly!

3. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    My "website" has a page featuring my five Buff Orps.

Everything GAHen says is true, so I can't add more. But I would say that since they are light-colored, they are easier targets for predators if they are free-ranged.

4. texaschickmama

texaschickmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 19, 2007
    Poolville, TX
    I love my BOs. They are very laid back, even my rooster, Caesar. They lay great for me, I have 13 - 8 mo old pullets and get approx. 10-13 eggs per day. My roo takes good care of his girls and has never attacked me. I even have a couple hens that come up to me and want to be picked up. I picked this breed because I thought it would be a good match for my little daughter and son. I love 'em.

5. Yogiman

Yogiman Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2008
    South Louisiana