building a new run on pre-existing coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by calibersway, May 8, 2009.

1. calibersway

calibersway Out Of The Brooder

May 7, 2009
    Roxboro North Carolina
    Hey guys. I am brand new to BackYardChicken Forum. We had a pre-existing shed that the previous owners had added a chicken coop onto, but when we got the house, there was no run, so we built one on, (I will add pics up this weekend), its 10wX15L with PVC pipes in a tic tac toe pattern and supported in the meets with 2x4's, its a covered 4' high 'run'....well we have decided to get some more chickens and I am not satisfied with the current run,and want to make it larger, but I am kind of at a stall at how to 'add' onto it in the same manner we did it before,

SO. the question....I am looking for some idea's on how you guy's fixed your runs, I'm not looking for a tall run, and maybe pics to go by of wooden framed runs, i seen some on the contest page, but i got confused by the all the kinds, especially since i'm just looking for a run idea.

also, what is the best size/gauge of wire? just the simple classic 1" hex chicken wire? as well, whats thoughts of open versus covered runs? We do have cats, so thus why i am leaning toward covered, probably more for the cats' protection than the chickens but still. lol.

Much appreciated fellow chickeners.

2. chickaddict

chickaddict Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Bristol
    My girls freerange, but if your building a run I would cover it. I don't know what state you are in, but in CT hawks love to dine on chickens. good luck

3. xtremevermonter

xtremevermonter Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    Bradford, VT