1. WashingtonCowgirl

WashingtonCowgirl Out Of The Brooder

Apr 16, 2010
    Tenino, Wa
    My coop that I am remodeling is currently run-less. The chicken part of the coop is 5ft by 10 ft, and that will be divided into 2 separate five by five coops, each with their own 10ft by 10ft run. In the middle of those 2 runs I plan on having a fenced garden. I have never built a run before, so I have no clue where to even start. We have a lot of no-climb fencing, so could I use that and then add chicken wire to it for a little extra protection? Any certain kind of wood I should use? lol like I said I have no clue what I'm doing, so I might ask some pretty dumb questions [​IMG] Here is a super basic picture of what I plan on doing:
    [​IMG]

2. Gloria's Gang

Gloria's Gang Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2009
    Atkinson, NH
    I used pressure treated 4x4's for the posts of my 10x20' run spaced 5' apart with 2x4's for bracing inbetween. It is very sturdy. This also eliminated a lot of cutting and wasted lumber. I used heavy 2x3"wire to cover it (sides and top).

I can't sress enough the importance of the posts being SQUARE! The outcome of the whole thing depends on square and even posts, otherwise it will be all out of whack and look funny. I speak from experience. This past early summer with temps in the high 90's with humidity I got so frustreted I almost gave up! I'm glad I stuck with it because a big run is worth it for happy chickens.

3. WashingtonCowgirl

Apr 16, 2010
    Tenino, Wa
    Thanks for the reply. I have started looking for cheap supplies on craigslist. I forgot to add: It has to be super predator proof. We have: hawks, mink, raccoons, possums and coyotes. So I will be burying the fencing around the outside as well as putting netting on top of the runs.

4. MamaChic21

MamaChic21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2010
    Jackson, NJ