building a safe pen

Discussion in 'Geese' started by softmentor, Jan 16, 2017.

1. softmentor

softmentor Just Hatched

Dec 31, 2016
    Indio CA
    I need to build a coyote and owl proof pen. Is 2" by 4" welded wire that is commonly used for fence safe to use for a geese pen?
    I am a total rookie wanting to get my first geese (never even had a chicken before.) I plan on starting with 2 pair now but will eventually want to hatch my own under the geese and eventually have 5 to 8 breeding pair and as many as 50 birds at a time (the breeding pairs and their hatching goslings)
    will 2 x 4 wire be safe for both adults and goslings?
    My second thought/option is poultry wire over the 2 x 4 wire. Poultry wire alone is not strong enough to keep coyotes out so would put a second later of wire over the 2 x 4, with the poultry wire on the bird side so they can not stick their heads through it or climb out through it.
    or ??? what would be a good (low cost) way to build a good pen?

Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    You haven't taken into consideration the other preds besides the owl and coyote. There are mink weasel and depending on what part of the county martens etc. Raccoon one of the worst and hawks. If your going to keep them in a pen I'd suggest 2"X4' welded wire and hardware cloth up 3' around and a skirt going out 2' from bottom out from outside of pen to keep out diggers and you'll need to cover the top and secure because alot of preds climb. Money invested will pay off on safe birds. If you use poultry wire mink can get through 1" opening so It really isn't safe.

I'd also suggest buying" The Book of Geese" alot of great information along with pics.

Welcome to BYC @softmentor

3. softmentor

softmentor Just Hatched

Dec 31, 2016
    Indio CA