Building Conversion vs. Separate Coop? (Ventilation concern)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by sarah26725, Mar 29, 2015.

1. sarah26725

sarah26725 New Egg

Mar 29, 2015
    Hello everyone! I'm new to the vast world of chickens and need some advice.

I've been reading as much chicken-related material as I can absorb about breeds, food, housing, first aid, etc.

Today as I was perusing "Storey's Guide to Raising Chickens", I came across a subject that I hadn't considered - VENTILATION.

Up until a few hours ago, our housing plan for our soon-to-arrive flock of 11 tiny chicks who are bound to grow up into large birds (orps, australops, barred, sussex) was to convert part of a pre-existing building on our property into their very own chicken mansion.

I was planning on 10 sqft per bird indoor space as we live in north west Ohio and it can get sub zero and very windy in the winter and I don't want them to be over crowded and angry in the winter.

The building, pictured below, is approximately 16ft deep by 20ft wide inside. My plans were to construct a wall just to the left of the entrance that would segregate the left-hand portion of the building for the ladies, leaving the right hand side for storage.
    We intended to cut a pop hole in the left side of the building that would lead out into their outdoor run...

[​IMG]

The door and window you see here are the only doors and windows that exist in the building.

There is a drop ceiling inside that has insulation above. Notice the vent above the door... there is a matching vent on the opposite side.

The side of the building we're looking at here is on the prevailing wind side, so if the window is equipped with a screen, fresh air will definitely enter in.

BUT, from what I've been reading, this "tiny" window will not provide enough ventilation. My husband does not want to "hack up" the building, adding ventilation ports on the left side and the rear of the building...