?buk buk buk b-gawk buk buk, but still no egg?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ChickenSmitten, Dec 22, 2008.

1. ChickenSmitten

ChickenSmitten Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2008
    Madison Wisconsin
    So it was 14 below zero and the girls were all snug in their coop and I hear the egg laying sounds for the first time, they are 22 weeks old... red combs, squatting...

But no egg to be found.

last night I dreamt of frozen eggs.
    So... is it normal for them to make those noises and NOT be laying?
    [​IMG]

2. Jena

Jena The Welsh Witch

Nov 2, 2008
    Cardiff
    I had one that did this.

Her buddies were as quiet as mice, and the eggs were a huge surprise, but Sarah,My Prima Donna little girl let us all know several times that she was trying.

She even woke up my son one morning. I was amazed, but after a day or so she finally got there, now she is quiet like the others, and even laid one right in front of me yesterday.

I am new to all of this so I was concerned when she did this, and just as a precaution I added a little olive oil for them just in case it might help.

I don't know if it did or if she just go there on her own, but she is fine and bouncing around all over the place now. Very proud of herelf now.

Hope you get a prize soon too.

Jena.

Last edited: Dec 22, 2008
  3. katrinag

katrinag Chillin' With My Peeps

It can be some time before she will lay an egg. One of my girls did the egg making noise for almost 2 weeks before I saw an egg.

4. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    My BR had me certain this afternoon that she had infally done The Deed. But... NOPE.

Faker.

5. Momo

Momo Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2008
    Nelson BC
    My EE girls did this for a couple of weeks before producing an egg. Drove me nuts.

6. digitS'

digitS' Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2007
    ID/WA border