Bumblefoot Infection Still There?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Mogoer1, Nov 21, 2017.

1. Mogoer1

Mogoer1 In the Brooder

Nov 21, 2017
    Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting, so hopefully I’m doing this right.

About a month ago we noticed our barred Plymouth Rock hen was limping and had a scab on her foot. We were able to conclude that she had bumble foot, so we worked on extracting the infection. We were able to remove the kernel, and couldn’t find anything else inside to hint that the infection was still present. So we wrapped it up and hoped for the best.

Now about a week or two later, a new scab has formed and it still looks pretty black to me! And she is still limping (not as bad as before however). We need advice, do we try to remove it again? Or is it something that’ll go away on its own?

We don’t have an avian veterinarian around us, unfortunately we have to do all the work ourselves.

Thanks F8416E3B-24C3-455D-8874-A7ECFB4DCB97.jpeg

2. KikisGirls

KikisGirls Reading. Must read more. Premium Member Project Manager

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
    Hi there and welcome.
    When you removed the scab did you get a good size chunk of cheesy type gunk out too?

3. GinaNew York

GinaNew York Songster

May 22, 2012
    New York/CT