Bumblefoot surgery turned into much more! And now Roo troubles! Gahh!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Airilith, Jul 14, 2010.

1. Airilith

Airilith Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2009
    Eastern Shore, VA
    My EE hen has what I believe to be early stages of bumblefoot. So I got all the things I would need from the store yesterday, with the plan of cleaning it up today. This morning I soaked her feet in epsom salt water for 15 minutes. In the process of getting her out of the tub I noticed that one of the roosters must have cut her side quite bad. I'd seen injuries like that plenty of times when I worked in the poultry industry, but I have to admit that I freaked a bit to see it on my Star.

I calmed myself down, and my Animal Sciences degree kicked in. The supplies that I had set out for the bumblefoot treatment were all that I would need to patch her back up. The cut was all the way through her skin, which made me nervous. But there are no vets around here that see chickens, so I was the only option. I dipped a papertowel in the epsom salt water and soaked her side until the scab softened up a bit. I used the x-acto knife to get all of the scab off. She was very calm, though having her wrapped up in a shirt helped wonders. I then packed the outside of the wound with sugardine, as I'd seen recommended for bumblefoot. I just figured it would work the same keeping infection from setting in on this wound as well. For those of you who haven't heard of it (as I hadn't as of a few days ago either) it's just a mixture of betadine and sugar. After smearing it on the outside of her wound I taped gauze over it, and then tied a piece of cloth over it all to keep her from pecking at it.