Bumblefoot - unsuccessful surgery, no pus

rugbyrebel

Songster
10 Years
May 21, 2013
Southern Ontario, Canada
Hello,

One of my birds has bumble foot. This is my first time treating it. I've been reading lots online and watched videos of the surgery. I was uncomfortable doing it by myself so I took her to the vet. I thought the vet would help me clean out the wound so it could heal but I was only given oral antibiotics (I didn't realize it's real serious day surgery at the vet, expensive!) I don't think the antibiotics are doing anything... And the vet said they might not reach the thick infection.

Since everyone else seems to do the surgery no problem I thought I'd try (first vet appt was expensive enough!). When I took off the black scab I couldn't see any evidence of pus or a kernel. I tried squeezing and soaking, nothing. The flesh was pink. When I tried to cut deeper she seemed in imense pain (with metacam). It was nothing like the videos at all! In the end I stopped, soaked again in neomycin and bandaged up.

I've been soaking her foot everyday in Epsom and giving meds from the vet. She isn't limping and the foot isn't super hot. There is large swelling on the pad but nothing on the top of the foot.

I read another thread where the poster also didnt find pus... I think it was suggested that the infection was advanced and progressed higher into the foot. The poster used sugardine poultice to draw out the infection before attempting the surgery again. I thought I would try that. The bird came to me with bumblefoot so I'm not sure how long she's had it.

I've attached pics of the wound before I bandaged it. Note, anything that looks white is a light reflection! The flesh is pink. It was difficult getting a good pic.

Suggestions welcome, thank you.