Bumblefoot without scab?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by gypsytumbleweed, Jul 4, 2015.

1. gypsytumbleweed

gypsytumbleweed In the Brooder

Jul 4, 2015
    I am a very new newbie with chickens. This gal started limping and sitting down quite a bit a week or so ago. I wasn't smart enough to check her feet right away. When I did, one of her toes was blue-ish and there was a little bit of swelling. It didn't look like the pictures of bumblefoot, so initially I though she'd sprained something jumping off a bale of straw in her pen. I isolated her and started doing daily epsom salt & tea tree oil soaks, sprayed the foot with vetricyn and wrapped it. After soaking the foot, she has very little balance & kind of looks drunk.. (this drunk condition seems to resolve after some time back in the crate, but I have since noticed the same drunk symptoms once not related to soaking her feet where she was very off balance, falling over and had to lean on the sides of the dog crate she's hospitalized in to stay upright..). Yesterday after unwrapping her foot prior to a soak, I noticed the bottom of her foot has a raised area that looks like its swelling. This looks more like the pictures of bumblefoot I've seen, but there is no scab.. So, I'm looking for advice. Do you all think its bumblefoot or something else? (She is eating and drinking, but seems very thin to me)

First picture is bottom of foot. Second is top of foot showing toe that looks swollen. THANK YOU![​IMG][​IMG]

2. Nupe

Nupe Songster

Jun 13, 2014
    Georgia