bumps on beaks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sstielst, Sep 7, 2008.

1. sstielst

sstielst Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2008
    Hi-I have four 4-week old chicks and all of them have grown big bumps on their beaks. I'm new to raising chickens and don't know whether or not this is normal or if they are sick. One of our chicks died a couple of days ago (I'm not sure from what--just got listless and sort of wheezy, and in fact another one is also acting like that...).

Are these bumps normal? Do they sometimes bleed (2 of mine have)?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or insight!

P.S. I figured out how to add photos. Thanks!

Sorrel
    [[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  2. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Do you have a picture of the bumps? It could be a number of things.

3. lovinthechickens

lovinthechickens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2008
    northern SD county, CA
    Oh wow, those dont look too good.

4. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    No idea... *bump*

5. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    i believe that is fowl pox

6. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    I just looked up fowl pox on google and foudn lots of pics that appear to match yours.

[​IMG]

7. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA
    Where did you get these chicks? I would definitely notify them of the problem. Poor babies. [​IMG]

Jody

8. sstielst

sstielst Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2008
    Thanks to all of you for the suggestion of fowl pox. If that's what it is, does anybody know what the prognosis is likely to be, both in terms of whether they'll live and whether they'll be okay at egg-laying?

9. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA