Bunch of questions, new to chickens

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Creat8, Mar 8, 2012.

1. Creat8

Creat8 New Egg

Mar 8, 2012
    Hello, I am new to the world of chickens,
    I lovingly received as a gift 4 week old baby chickens, I have only taken care of baby ducks before but they are obviously different. Right now they have a heat lamp and a broad spectrum poultry feed ( I am confused on what to give them ) as well as clean water. There are two road island reds and two ameraucana's, super cute and already have names. Now I wanted chickens a few years down the road but now they are here and I want to know how to care for them properly. For their coop I wanted to build a small A line structure, I honestly dont want more then 4 girls. However it will be in northern Idaho so I know it gets cold what temp should I start turning on a heat lamp for? I know the reds will do fine but the others I am worried about. Also right now I am living in WA but am moving to Idaho in 2 weeks ( a 6hr drive) what is the best way to transport these little guys? Also do they need regular vet check ups? And I want these girls to make eggs lol many of them what kind of feed should I put them on and when? Any tips on egg production and such I have been trying to read a bunch of these threads to see what I can learn.

Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    :frow Welcome to the forum! :frow Glad you joined us! :frow