bunnies

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by scrapmom5, May 30, 2008.

1. scrapmom5

scrapmom5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2008
    Utah
    My dh saw a lionhead rabbit the other day and really thought about getting it...(somewhat surprising after spending way too much on a hen house). I know nothing about bunnies except that they eat, sleep, and poop. What breeds do well in northern utah winters? What type of a home would they like (a cage just doesn't seem good). Give me the scoop.

2. kodiakchicken

kodiakchicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2008
    Kodiak, Alaska
    I'm not a bunny expert by any means, but I've had several now and can give you a few hints and tips.

I think just about any kind of bunny will do okay in the winters. We rarely see below zero, but we get a lot of rain and wind. We built a bunny condo (fancy hutch) when we got our first ones that have housed up to three buns at a time. We divided it so one side is open and surrounded by hardward cloth and the other side is fully enclosed by plywood walls. That way they can really escape the cold or just hide out, which bunnies like to do. We just created little openings for them to go through. Remember buns are burrowers so they don't mind scrunching down through little holes. I also put a little second story "balcony" with a little ladder in the open side so they can get up and high and look around. We always put heavy plastic around the wire side in the winter to keep the wind and rain down.

The bottom of the hutch is hardware cloth but I keep a heavy layer of straw in the bottom. Wire cage bottoms will hurt buns feet after awhile if you don't. Plus they love to nibble on the straw and move it around and "build" their nests.