1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Butchering Layer Roos

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Maemujwok, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Maemujwok

Maemujwok Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2013
    Hey ya'll! I'm fairly new to raising chickens. We raised them when I was a kid, but really I just had to worry about doing what my mom told me to and when the birds stopped laying, they were retired to a ranch that "rescued" birds. We have 14 1 month old chicks that we hatched. We've already decided to process any roo's that we get because the neighbors won't be too happy about them. The chicks are a mix of Long Island Reds and Sex links with the possibility of another breed thrown in. At what age will I want to process the roosters? Sorry if this has been addressed here before, I was having trouble finding an answer in the forum.

Thanks!

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I think you mean Rhode Island Red, not Long Island, but that doesn’t really matter.

There is some personal preference in this. The chickens you process will not be like the ones you buy at the grocery. They will be several weeks older so they will have more flavor and texture. You can’t cook them the same and get the same results because of the age difference. The ones you buy at the grocery were processed at 6 to 8 weeks old. If you try that with these chickens, there will hardly be any meat there.

Some people process as young as 12 weeks. I don’t. There just isn’t enough meat there. I wait until at least 16 weeks as a bare minimum and prefer 18 to 21 weeks much more. They put on a lot of meat between 16 and 21 weeks, then really slow down on adding more meat.