Button Quail Newbie Questions...

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Dawn @ Breezy's Legacy, Sep 19, 2018.

1. Dawn @ Breezy's Legacy

Dawn @ Breezy's Legacy In the Brooder

Dec 10, 2017
    Longwood FL
    I am new to Quails. I recieved a Button Quail a couple days ago. It was found running loose & ran up to someone. It is so darn cute! I have decided to keep it. With that being said... Where do I start? Sex & age is unknown. I was told that it is a "Splash" Button Quail. I want to make the perfect setup for my new button... I need some inspiration in creating my own. Also I have some (many) questions lol. Sorry if it seems like a lot of questions or if I am repeating questions that others have asked already. But I basically need to know absolutely everything there is to know about properly raising Quails including their likes/dislikes & their Do's/Don'ts. I truly want everything to be perfect for my Quail(s).

BASIC CARE INFO:
    - Do they need mental stimulation...
    - Toys (purchased or natural)
    - Hunting/Foraging
    - Different levels for climbing
    - Do they have to be paired/grouped or will they be fine alone...
    - Male/Female Ratio
    - Territory size
    - Quails safely grouped together
    - Foods, Plants, Other items that are toxic/deadly

GENDER/AGE:
    - How to determine gender
    - marking/coloration
    - size

FRIENDS OR FOE:
    - Other Birds like Pigeons
    - Poultry
    - Peafowl
    - Guinea pigs
    - Rabbits

FEEDING & WATERING:
    - Mealworms (live or dried)
    - Crickets
    - Feed (starter, scratch, pellets)
    - Safe watering system
    - Supplements
    - vitamins
    - calcium
    - salt/minerals blocks

MEDICAL/MEDICATIONS:
    - Dewormers
    - Parasite, Mite, Flea sprays/powders (best brands)
    - What should I always have on hand for quails that is needed (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly, emergencies)...

HOUSING:
    - Indoors or Outdoors
    - Complete or Partial roof coverage
    - Prefered housing