button quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by redwards, Jan 27, 2013.

1. redwards

redwards New Egg

Jan 27, 2013
    Is it true button quail prefer to be in pairs only?

2. GrandmaBird

GrandmaBird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2012
    Colorado
    yes

3. rollkeeg877

rollkeeg877 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 4, 2012
    london ontario
    its better two have them in trios because the male could kill the female it depends on how aggressive the male is and what breed

4. marilyn1

marilyn1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2013
    florida
    Mine do. When I bought mine we tried different combos to see who got along. I tried 2 female with the male and the one female started to pick and chase the other female away. That's male female pair. Not sure about same sex in trios. I only have 2 males together also and they do fine together....I'm fairly new to this. My pair actually built a nest and laid eggs there.[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. rollkeeg877

Dec 4, 2012
    london ontario
    leave the eggs they might set on them i had a female do that but the problem is that if one chick hatches before the others she will leave all the eggs and take that one chick away thats what happened to me

6. marilyn1

Jan 4, 2013
    florida
    Thanks. What did you do with the other eggs? If removed.....When

7. rollkeeg877

Dec 4, 2012
    london ontario
    i took them and put them in my brooder only 2 i think lived the others died in the eggs i didn't have an incubator then so it was hard to hatch anything

8. marilyn1

Jan 4, 2013
    florida
    Thanks, I'll let you know what happens.

9. rollkeeg877

Dec 4, 2012
    london ontario