Buying Baby Chickens. Questions on Breeds and Marek's Vaccination

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Jeeper1540, Jan 17, 2011.

1. Jeeper1540

Jeeper1540 Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm ordering some baby chicks this year from MPC. This is my first time ordering online and i was wondering, First, whether or not i should get the Marek's Vaccination?
    I also had a question about breeds. I know i want atleast one Polish, and i was wondering if based on the hen's feather color, whether they are better layers, have a better personality, etc. Any help will be appreciated!

2. Jeeper1540

Jeeper1540 Chillin' With My Peeps

Also, Do you think the older chickens will peck at the Polish's "Afro" feathers?

3. Chicken0Boy

Chicken0Boy Chillin' With My Peeps

I would personally get marreks vacinations, because, for me, it is one less disease I worry about my chicks/chickens getting. I do not have a polish, but I heard they have medium sized eggs and they have a good personality. My friend has one and she loves hers to death! [​IMG] The only con I have heard of is the crest, like a Silkie it somewhat messes up there vesion so they are not as capable to see a predator coming, and once you get up close they can be startled. I have silkies though and they see just fine.
    I don't think they would peck at the 'afro' atleast mine dont peck at my silkie's 'afro'!

Hope I helped! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  4. KimM

KimM Out Of The Brooder

Jan 9, 2011
    I don't know much about Polish, but I do know someone who is trying to get rid of a Polish rooster because the other (non-Polish) hens keep pulling his feathers out. I personally got the Marek's vaccine, didn't see a reason not to.

5. Mak

Mak Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2009
    Londonderry, NH
    I always get the Marek's vaccination, for the same reason others have said- why not? It's cheap and a safeguard.