Buying chicks of different ages ?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Petect, May 3, 2016.

1. Petect

Petect Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2016
    Hampton, Ct
    I’m new to chickens and this is my first time posting, but I’ve been lurking for a while and hopefully learned a bit.
    I’m picking up my chicks next week 3 – 4 Barred Rock and a few RIR’s (7 or 8 total). The place where I’m getting them from said they get 1 – 2 day old chicks in weekly. They also usually have some 2 to 3 week old chicks they sell for less.

Being the cheapskate that I am, the older chicks seem like a good deal, or are they? I’ve read posts from people stressing over mixing chicks with less than a week difference in age together.

Is there a down side to getting 2 – 3 week old chicks? Should they all be the same age, or would a mix of 2 and 3 week old chicks be o.k. ? Will there be a problem with getting some of the older chicks and some day old chicks?

As I’ve decided that I’m going the MHP route it seems like there might be a problem adjusting the height to work for different size chicks at the same time – maybe not. Any thoughts?

I can keep an eye on them for a while, but I don’t want to have to watch them constantly to keep the older chicks from beating on the younger ones. I’d also like to keep them all together if possible to avoid having to do 2x of everything. So, what do you all think?
    Thanks in advance.
    Pete

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC. 2 and 3 week old chicks will do fine together. Day olds might be picked on or trampled by the 3 week old birds.

3. RonC

RonC Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2012
    D/FW
    2X They should be fine together.

4. Petect

May 3, 2016
    Hampton, Ct
    Thanks
    Just to clarify since I asked a few questions. Will it be o.k. to raise 1 day olds together with 2 -3 week olds?

Pete

5. nativegirl

nativegirl Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2016