Buying chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by KristenF87, Jan 5, 2009.

1. KristenF87

KristenF87 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2009
    Gainesville
    I am new to chickens and my boyfriend and I are currently building a coop and looking into different types of chickens. The problem I have run across is that most hatcheries will only ship large quantities of chicks, we are only interested in 4 or 5.

Any advice or information on how to get my hands on a small number of healthy chicks would be much appreciated!

Also, I'm not 100% sure but I'm leaning towards "easter eggers." I read on My Pet Chicken that they are typically very friendly and docile and make great pets (not to mention their gorgeous multi-colored eggs).

Thank you [​IMG]
    Kristen
    Gainesville, FL

2. Apopka Cluckers

Apopka Cluckers Out Of The Brooder

Dec 29, 2008
    Firstly, Welcome to BYC.

You are sure to get the answers to your questions here [​IMG]

I asked a question along these line a week ago. You might look to see if you have a feed shop in your area. I have 4 within 10 miles and 3 out of these 4 sell chicks and you can buy the quantity that you want. The owner even told me that he will order me 1 or 2 of any chick as long as I get my order in before he orders for the store.

The prices may be a little higher but you get the amount that you want and don't have to worry about the shipping costs or the small order costs that some hatcheries charge.

Hope this helps and again, welcome

3. michelle1017

michelle1017 Goat Mama

Aug 21, 2008
    Missouri
    [​IMG]

I think mypetchicken will let you order a smaller amount than most of the other hatcheries. Most of your feed stores and places like that will usually have baby chicks in the spring too. That is where we got most of ours from. We have EEs and really enjoy them!

4. CarlaRiggs

CarlaRiggs Chillin' With My Peeps