Buying day old chicks vs. hatching for friendly chickens

MaryZoe

Songster
6 Years
Jun 26, 2016
Naples, FL
Hello Fellow Chicken Friends,

I'm relatively new at raising chickens, but I have both hatched eggs and bought day old chicks during this past year. I noticed that the four chickens that came from the eggs I hatched are more friendly and comfortable around me than the four chickens that I ordered as day old chicks. Is this typical behavior, or is this an anomaly? I would like a couple more blue and/or green layers (since neither of the olive eggers I ordered are laying olive eggs--just brown and pinkish brown). I know that buying day old chicks is easier and more convenient in many ways, but I really like the chickens that like me and that fly onto my shoulder at any possible chance, which, in my case, were the chicks I hatched. Is this just a coincidence? I'm open to both options: buying eggs and hatching, or buying the day old chicks.

Thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks,
MaryZoe

Coincidence. Of my five friendliest birds (of about 200 birds total), only one I hatched myself. The other four I got not at a day old, but several weeks of age - one as late as ten weeks.

It's all dependent on the individual's personalities and how much you handle them.

Thanks. This is helpful. It's simpler to buy the day old chicks. While you're here, and since you have Olive Eggers, is my experience of them not laying olive eggs also coincidental? I bought them day old from a hatchery with a good reputation. All the chicks they sent me are not healthy adult birds, but the blue copper marans' eggs are not very dark,and neither of the two OEs lay olive eggs. A little disappointing. I'm thinking of going for a Blue Isbar next. Or is this the wrong thread for such a question? :\

Thanks again for your thoughts.