Buying hatching eggs....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Chris Herzog, Dec 5, 2011.

1. Chris Herzog

Chris Herzog Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Covington
    What causes an egg to be porous? Does it have to do with diet, stress or what?

When I receive hatching eggs in the mail, I started checking them not only for cracks but for being porous before they ever go near the incubator. Is there any recourse one should take with the seller of such eggs or is it just all part of it? I’m not an expert by no means (I still have plenty to learn) but I just love it when I read the disclaimer that most all sellers have about not guaranteeing that eggs will hatch do to shipping and your methods but then you get eggs from them that no one could possibly hatch not even the seller him/her self. If porous eggs are a problem shouldn’t the seller be checking their eggs for this before the eggs are shipped to you? Yes it’s more work but….

I’m not trying to be a butt or anything…It’s just that it can be really frustrating when you spend good money on a product that you think is high end and the result before you even get started is destine to fail by no fault of your own. I guess my thinking is this….your already starting off with odds against you because there are so many variables that come into play ie, packing, shipping, time, non fertile and of coarse your hatching methods…so why wouldn’t the seller take the time to sell you something that gives you the best possible chance of having good results? Is it just a numbers game or a money thing?