Calico Geese ..?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by Snakedoc, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Snakedoc

Snakedoc Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2013
    I picked these guys up a few weeks ago. I have really enjoyed them so far. They're a lot of fun to watch, and they make the most spectacular noises ...

The previous owner thought they were "splash" Chinese, and she thought it was a very rare color for the breed. She was hoping to see the color developed and teased out further, and I'd love to do so ... But I'm still in the research phase of the project. [​IMG] The rest of the flock that she had were white and brown. I had to do a lot of digging to find anything that looks even a bit like them, but I finally found this:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/600788/painted-geese/

That thread suggests that they are all males, and indeed, these two do both seem to be ganders. (I think -- I'm new to the breed, but they definitely conform to the descriptions I've read of male stance and sound effects.) However, it (the above thread) offers conflicting information about the genetics of the pattern.

Can anyone offer any insight into these guys? My plan was to look for some nice quality Chinese geese (female) to pair up with them ... Maybe one of each color (white and brown). Does that sound logical, or am I chasing a pipe dream that they are even pure swan geese? The above thread seems to suggest they may just be the result of hybridization, and I never did think they looked very type-y even before I bought them ....

Thanks everyone!

(One of the two is a lot more "splashed" than the other, but the other is also spotted. Also, the "spalshy" one is a lot bolder, more photogenic, and seems to be the leader, so I thought I had a sexed pair at first, but I *think* the other is just a timid gander.)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Poultrybonkers

Poultrybonkers Overrun With Chickens

Mar 22, 2011
    They look like chinese mixes unless painted is aimed towards spotted mixes.

3. Snakedoc