California Coop Concerns

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by vckums, Apr 18, 2009.

1. vckums

vckums Out Of The Brooder

Apr 18, 2009
    California
    Hi all, newbie here! Hubby and I have a few questions on a coop.

Hubby wants to compost the chicken poop for our garden. However we are unsure of how to do the floor for the coop. Do we have to have a raised floor? Can the coop be on the ground?

Are there any members from California who have pictures of their coops to share? I'm concerned about rain and winter. We don't get snow, but it can get to about 30 degrees. Will the chickens be too cold?

Sorry for all the questions.

Vicki & Scott

2. bumpershoot

bumpershoot Chillin' With My Peeps

Where in Ca are you? I lived in Santa Cruz and the mountains for years. Mud would be my main concern.

3. Eggie and Me

Eggie and Me Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2009
    Southern California
    Hi, fella newbie here also. We live in So. Cal. Our coop is off the ground with a combo of cement and grass/dirt. We also have a 1/4" square floor for them to walk on while going up to their nesting/future nesting boxes. Well that is IF they like our ideas??[​IMG] We also have/when finished a fenced in yard, just for the girls that also is covered on the top to protect against cats, etc. Hope this is a little help. Check out other coops, it helped us so much. Good luck [​IMG]

4. vckums

Apr 18, 2009
    California
    I'm in the East Bay near SF/Oakland.

I am concerned about mud and rain. I'd want an open coop for the summers, it can get over 100 here. But also want something to attach in the winter to keep rain and cold out.

I've been browsing the photos here, they are all so pretty! Ours will be mainly wire. The nesting box is going to be an old rabbit hutch. Hubby sketched out a design to add a run to it.

I'm still sort of nervous about doing this. I'd hate to make something not right for them.

5. Renee

Renee Chillin' With My Peeps