California hens & rain protection

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Cheep, Aug 4, 2010.

1. Cheep

Cheep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 17, 2010
    Sebastopol, CA
    I'm new to having chickens, & have had my 6 hens ~3 months. The coop I built is large enough for sleeping & laying eggs, but if they had to stay inside on a rainy day, they couldn't move around that much. Their run is not covered, & they free-range in my back yard most of the day.

What do I need to do, & how much space will be needed, in preparation for rainy weather?

There is a photo of my coop & backyard on my home page.
    Thank you all so much for your interest & help.

2. suzettex5

suzettex5 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2009
    California
    I think the standard for the run is 3 or 4 square feet per bird. I live in Nor Cal, and when it rains really hard, my flock stays inside the coop. They could go out, but choose not to, they dont really enjoy the rain. It wont hurt your flock to stay inside the coop for a day or two, just be sure to give food and water and, consider giving them a treat to beat boredom, like hanging a cauliflower from the roof for them to jump and peck at.

3. Cheep

Jul 17, 2010
    Sebastopol, CA
    LOL thanks for the advice. The cauliflower sounds like a lot of fun for them, & I can start thinking of rainy-day games, like I used to for my kids

4. welasharon

welasharon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    North Florida
    I have a tarp over my run. I am in Florida and it is so hot and rainy.

5. chuckzoo

chuckzoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2009
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    I have my run covered with heavy duty clear plastic and then with shade cloth because with the plastic alone you can end up trapping a lot of heat something I am sure you will have to take into consideration in your climate.

6. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR