California Whites

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by txyank1961, Apr 30, 2017.

1. txyank1961

txyank1961 Just Hatched

Apr 30, 2017
    North Texas
    Hello. I'm posting to introduce myself. I'm not new to caring for backyard birds. I've had Khaki Campbell ducks and Canada Geese in the past, all free range, but had major losses to predators. This is my first time with chickens. I've started with a small coop and run to house 4 California White hens. They are currently 12 weeks old and doing great. I live in North Central Texas. This flock is a learning experience for me. If all goes well, I plan on expanding the size of the flock next year. Looking forward to reading all of the informative info on this site.

2. Jetblack2004

Jetblack2004 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2016
    East Sussex
    [​IMG]
    California Whites are beautiful hens! You'll love them!
    Have fun on BYC
    -Jet

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I'm surprised Canadian Geese were taken by predators - they put up quite a fierce battle. Maybe your CD weren't as LARGE as the wild one's that use the Midwest as their toilet.

Welcome to Backyard chickens

4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us. I think you have started in the best way - starting small is less hectic and makes for a gentle learning curve.

You'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre - https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center and if you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

You may wish to consider joining your state thread as it will put you in touch with other BYC members in your area - https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread#post_3239224

All the best
    CT

5. Teila