Call me dumb but why is the rooster doing

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by doodledo, Sep 18, 2007.

1. doodledo

doodledo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2007
    Silverado, my rooster is grabbing the hens and pulling them any which way. Just not on their head, he pulls their wings any part of their body. Is he just trying to get alittle or what? [​IMG] And well if he is getting some does it make the eggs fertile? I think they wont be unless they sit on them?? I know I know, you are thinking what in the world is she doing with chickens!!

2. HobbyChickener

HobbyChickener Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2007
    central KY
    I am a newbie, and I think I know the answers to your questions, However I believe that this is a time for

CALLING SPECKLED HEN, ALL BIRDS CALLING SPECKLED HEN!!![​IMG]

3. Davaroo

Davaroo Poultry Crank

Feb 4, 2007
    Leesville, SC
    Silverado, my rooster is grabbing the hens and pulling them any which way. Just not on their head, he pulls their wings any part of their body. Is he just trying to get alittle or what?
    I'd bet so. It's actually called mating, not "getting some" or other colorful terms. It sounds like he's young and hasn't got it all figured out yet. Won't be long til he does.

And well if he is getting some does it make the eggs fertile? I think they wont be unless they sit on them??
    Yes, they will be fertile. But the fertility wont be something you can rely on till he gets good and randy with the hens. Of course, in order to have them hatch, they must be incubated - either by a broody hen or artificially.

I know I know, you are thinking what in the world is she doing with chickens!!
    The thought had crosssed my mind, now that you mention it.

He has a neat name. How many hens do you have for Silverado?

4. Frozen Feathers

Frozen Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2007
    Maine