Calling Speckled, Bama, Prissy, etc...Do I have a Self Blue/Lavender?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by ChicknThief, Oct 10, 2008.

1. ChicknThief

ChicknThief Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2008
    Nor Cal
    I hatched her out of a BBS set. She is really pale, and she has no lacing whatsoever. These aren't the best pics, but I will try to get better ones...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA
    Are they the same chicken or 2 different ones? They both look blue (as in andalusian blue). Very pretty girls.

Jody

3. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

If she came from BBS eggs, she's light blue. To get lavender, you'd have to have gotten her from two self-blue parents or a lav and split black (I'm not good with this lav gene-someone correct me if that's wrong)

Jess, how are Hawkeye's grandchicks? Gee, they're grown now, aren't they?

Last edited: Oct 10, 2008
  4. ChicknThief

Jan 12, 2008
    Nor Cal
    Thanks for the quick responses! Ok, so that means that she cannot be a Lavender. If I put her under a black rooster will she throw darker chicks with lacing?

Cynthia! They are all doing just fine! We have tried about a bazillion times to get good shots of them but they are so darned active that the pics all come out fuzzy! I will post what we have of them once I get the pics uploaded. Look for it in a new thread...

5. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

I love those eyes!! Beautiful girl you have.

6. ChicknThief

Jan 12, 2008
    Nor Cal
    Thanks Carrie!

Cynthia, Here is the link to the Hawkeye babies...

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=95793

ETA: Jody, I just caught your question. Both pictures are of the same chicken. The lighting is just a little different.

So what do you guys think about my black roo theory?

Last edited: Oct 10, 2008
  7. speckledhen