Came home to find my duck can't keep her neck up he was out of her pin and she twitches helpppppp

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by farmwitch, Aug 8, 2014.

1. farmwitch

farmwitch New Egg

Apr 21, 2014
    Colliers Wv
    Came home to find my duck laying on the ground with her neck flat she can't keep it up but she moves it and lay it's on her back I don't know if something broke her neck or what I need to know what to do I'm new at this

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    It could be botulism from eating maggots, vegetation, or dead animals or fish that have been without air. There is no treatment other than supportive treatment to help eat or drink. Giving an epsom salt flush sometimes is done in chickens. If animals live 2 days, they may recover. Poisoning could also be a cause unless she was hurt. So sorry. Here is a link to read:
    http://www.wcsv.org/education/diseases/duck-botulism/
    http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,1607,7-153-10370_12150_12220-26493--,00.html

Last edited: Aug 8, 2014
  3. farmwitch

farmwitch New Egg

Apr 21, 2014
    Colliers Wv
    When u touch her neck she jumps wish I could post a video to show u

4. WeBeCluckin

WeBeCluckin Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2014
    Spokane Wa