can a chicken have a stroke?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lilssht910, Sep 7, 2009.

1. lilssht910

lilssht910 New Egg

Sep 7, 2009
    I am new to this so if someone could help that would be awesome!!!!! My daughters chicken started out 4 days ago with not using 1 leg-she had reflexes in it just not using it and last night we went out to put them away and we found her in the pen NOT using either leg- no broken bones at first we thought maybe a pulled or sore muscle... but now we dont know..... she is eating and drinking and using her wings as balance.... please someone help me... this is her second chick to lose

2. S&SPoultryExchange

S&SPoultryExchange Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 3, 2009
    Concord, NC
    I have had full grown chickens do this to me. I always thought well maybe a snake bite or something similar, but a old man at the feed store one day said that overloads of certain vitamins and minerals can cause something similar to a stroke in poultry. I have lost 4 to this in the past 2-3 years. I have always wondered if that were true, but it sounds right to me.

3. Momo

Momo Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2008
    Nelson BC
    Yes, any animal can have a stroke ... but your description doesn't sound like one. Sounds more like Mareks, to be honest ... sorry.

4. lilssht910

lilssht910 New Egg

Sep 7, 2009
    Thank you for your help- she is still holdin on, and now in the house so I can keep a close eye on her. I know we will lose her and its hard on my daughter but she wants to try to save her.... you know how kids are.....[​IMG]

5. Amethyste

Amethyste For Love of Boo...

I have been told many times by old-timey chicken people and not so old-timey chicken people lol that chickens are prone to heart attacks and strokes. I know for a fact that I lost 4 of my original flock to those two things, according to the necropsy.

They didnt all at the same time mind you!