Can adult chickens still lay eggs in Winter with Infrared light?

ThePetParent

Hatching
6 Years
Dec 31, 2013
I have 4 Rhode Island Red Chickens 7 months old in November.
I live in the Mountains of Colorado and it gets to -25-35 degrees below zero.
I put an Infrared heat bulb 150 watt in their small coop and it keeps the coop warm at 36-45 degrees as the coop is not insulated.
I am new at this and have read that if you want them to produce more eggs to have the coop lit with light for 14- 16 hours a day.

I have the Infrared light on, they can't see red from what I have read....so.....should I change the heat lamp to a clear heat lamp of 125 watts? Or should I just keep the red heat lamp on?

They lay about 3-4 eggs per day so that's about one egg per bird.

If you are still getting 3-4 eggs a day from your 4 hens, I wouldn't worry about changing the bulb. You are getting about all you can get from them already.

Our 5 hens (RIR from TSC) did 4-5 eggs a day during warmer weather. Now that winter has moved in, they've dropped to 2-3 a day. Still more than enough for us. We don't use any additional lighting. I'm working on getting the coop wired for electric but that is so I can see when I am in there cleaning. It hasn't gotten cold enough for a long enough period here to worry about any heating. The hens don't seem to mind the cold but they REALLY hate the white stuff.

Yes, I have 8 hens and have a Infared light on them throughout the Winter. During the summer I usually get 6-8 eggs and I still get 6-8 eggs now.

As mentioned above ours slowed down as winter moved in and the days got shorter but they never did really stop. They have no artificial lighting in the coop. They are let out into the run first thing in the morning then after noon they are let out of the run to free range the yard and woods for the rest of the day. Like I said in previous post, changing bulbs isn't going to give you any bump in egg production.