1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can any one help me to figure out if I have hens or roosters

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by lilofthestars, Nov 11, 2015.

1. lilofthestars

lilofthestars Out Of The Brooder

Oct 9, 2015
    I am really new to raising chickens. My husband and I have three so far. One is white and has fur on her feet. The other one I believe is either Rhode Island Red or part Rhode Island Red cuz she is red. Then I have an Americana I was told.[​IMG][/IMG]

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    The two in the front of this picture are cockerels. I can't tell on the other one - a picture from the front would help to tell what gender that one is :)

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    x2

4. lilofthestars

Oct 9, 2015
    Thank you, may I ask how can you tell?

5. lilofthestars

Oct 9, 2015
    [​IMG] It is hard to get a front picture of her. I was told she is a americana

6. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    From what I can see she looks like a pullet so far.

We can tell from their red, developed combs at their age - that's a sure sign of a cockerel.

7. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    The first two are cockerels, the last I am not sure of, she looks like a pullet but, has the red coloring over her wings which usually means male.

8. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA