1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can anyone help me determine the sex of these four babies?? :)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by kelzp77, Sep 4, 2014.

1. kelzp77

kelzp77 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 4, 2014
    Gainesville, Florida
    Hello All,

I am fairly new to the chicken world and this was my first time hatching my own babies. I "think" I have three little girls and one roo, but I would like a second opinion... They will be 8 weeks old this Sunday.

Chick #1 Lavender Ameraucana

[​IMG]

Chick #2 French Blue Copper Maran (roo suspect)

[​IMG]

Chick #3 Silver laced Wyandotte

[​IMG]

Chick #4 Dominique

[​IMG]

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :)

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Chick 2 and probably Chick 3 are cockerels. The others, especially the first one, are looking like pullets. However, the first bird is not a Lavender Ameraucana, as she has feathered feet. More likely, she's a Cochin or Blue Langshan mix.

3. kelzp77

Sep 4, 2014
    Gainesville, Florida
    Oh boy.... thank you for the quick response! The man that I got the fertile eggs from didn't have either of those breeds you mentioned. How in the world did I end up with that! lol Maybe he didn't know what breed he had! ;) Thanks again for the help!!! I need all of it I can get.

4. sunflower4you

sunflower4you Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2014
    Don't silkies have the feathered feet, as well? Could be a silkie cross?

5. kelzp77

Sep 4, 2014
    Gainesville, Florida