1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can anyone help me gender ID this mixed bag?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by rjsilvers, Jul 4, 2016.

1. rjsilvers

rjsilvers New Egg

Jun 3, 2011
    Hi all,

I'm new to this, and I purchased 5 chickens from a breeder here that I'm pretty sure did not know what he was selling me. I purchased these at 3 weeks and they are now 9 weeks (gold laced is 8 weeks). Just by comparing mine to others pictures I've seen -- except for the gold-laced, the breeds don't seem to look anything like they're supposed to.

What he sold me was:
    2xSilver-laced Wyandottes
    2xLight Brahmas
    1xGold-laced Wyandotte

I'm not too overly concerned about the breed, but I am only allowed to have 1 rooster and I think I have at least three.

I believe the gold-laced is a rooster, as well as the two brahmas/wyandottes that I have marked with the red waddles and the red combs. The two without waddles and pink combs, I think, are hens.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Anyone with more knowledge care to weigh in?

Edit, just saw the "Not Sure If You've Got A Pullet Or Cockerel? Click Here! Thread 2" so please forgive the faux pas if I wasn't supposed to post this here.

Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
  2. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2013
    Hilo, HI
    I think you got them "sexed" right....More will peep in after this 4th of July celebration.

3. FlyingNunFarm

FlyingNunFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2015
    Chardon, OH
    I'm no expert by any means. In all my research I've found there is no fool proof way to sex a chicken! I'll list off some methods though just for fun.