1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can anyone help???

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by scaredinkandas, Dec 2, 2013.

1. scaredinkandas

scaredinkandas New Egg

Dec 2, 2013
    I am new to the country & when I moved here there were 11 cats. 6 kittens & 5 adult cats. The kittens were so wild I could not get near them & only 1 adult grew to trust me. A part Siamese female. Lss....every single one of the cats except for her has disappeared. One a night it seems. I brought her in the house & litter trained her. She was pregnant & now I have 6 cats in the house. I'm deathly afraid to put them back outside. What is happening to these cats & what can I do??? I am so sad some of those cats were just beautiful:'(

2. gmendoza

gmendoza Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Rock Hill,SC
    coyotes might have gotten them or they just moved on. Have you heard any coyotes? do you have wild dogs around there?

3. scaredinkandas

scaredinkandas New Egg

Dec 2, 2013
    Yes I hear coyotes almost every night. One just vanished in a matter of only 10 mins. I've been so upset about this. Would coyotes come that close to my house???

4. cassie

cassie Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2009
    It depends on how hungry the coyotes are. Where I used to live we frequently saw coyotes and heard them almost every night. I had poultry, sheep, goats, and pigs. I never lost any livestock to coyotes. I think there were two reasons for this. One, the coyotes had plenty of natural food available, and two, I had big territorial dogs. A lot of things will kill cats besides coyotes: stray dogs, hawks, and owls to name a few.

5. Peaches Lee

Peaches Lee Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 19, 2010
    Pennsylvania