1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can anyone identify what breed these chickens are??? It would be greatly appreciated :)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Minataur, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Minataur

Minataur New Egg

Dec 19, 2012
    Buckeye, Arizona
    I am new to the world of chickens, I have a general idea however since my grandma used to raise chickens for eggs when I was a kid. Otherwise, most of my knowledge is just from memory...heh. My neighbor was moving away and had no place for her chickens and I had the extra room so I took them in. They are very docile and friendly, I have a one year old daughter and they let her pet them. I was surprised at how calm they are. Anyway, I'm in it for the long haul, I've good a good piece of land behind my house and I want to learn more about chickens! They gave me 4 hens and 1 rooster and I would like to know what breed they are so if anyone can help me out, that would be awesome! We have named them all, they sure have unique personalities! I am very excited to have them!
    [​IMG]
    Big Red
    [​IMG]
    Girtrude and Pepper
    [​IMG]
    Tulip
    [​IMG]
    Spice

2. hdowden

hdowden Overrun With Chickens

Aug 14, 2011
    louisiana
    production red
    buff orp and a barred rock
    SS
    welsummer

3. Minataur

Minataur New Egg

Dec 19, 2012
    Buckeye, Arizona
    Oh thank you so much! Are these common breeds? :O I'm only 22...I have a lot to learn about chickens. Hah!

4. Allieharmon

Allieharmon Out Of The Brooder

Jun 3, 2012
    North Carolina
    well, Pepper is a Plymouth Barred Rock and Tulip is a Speckled Sussex. I have a SS in my flock and she is a sweet, very curious girl. She's also a little greedy :) Her name is Zillah

5. Minataur

Minataur New Egg

Dec 19, 2012