Can anyone sex these EEers yet? (Pic intensive) UPDATED WITH NEW PIC

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Eggcellent, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Eggcellent

Eggcellent Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2009
    Michigan's Thumb
    Here is the updated photo. I added some Blue Jersey Giants to the brooder so kind of ignore them [​IMG]

I put a letter on the pic about which sex I think they are. Some are kind of in the middle, but like I said I am a layman.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I got these chicks from miss_jayne here on BYC. An awesome lady with a ton of info to give (not to mention the yummy cookies). If you live anywhere near her you should definitely visit her at dollhouse farms. She tried to pick mostly hens for me but it was difficult with the chicks being younger than they are now. I am sure my kids getting set on certain chicks didn't help my chances any either.

Anyway, I am fairly certain I have at least one roo from my very layman's eye (The biggest of the three tan ones). Can anyone spot future hens or roos?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  2. farmerlor

farmerlor Chillin' With My Peeps

They're still awfully young and EEs are generally hard to sex anyway because of that silly comb and no wattles but I see one reddish tan who looks like he's got a pretty prominent, little darker comb. That's it so far. One of the lighter/whitish babies is iffy.

3. Eggcellent

Aug 30, 2009
    Michigan's Thumb
    Thanks farmerlor,

I agree that the reddish-tan one with the darker comb looks to my untrained eye to be a roo. "He" is bigger than all the other chicks and none of the others have a comb as dark or as large as "his". Maybe I will get lucky and he will be the only roo.

With my luck I will end up with 6 roos and a hen [​IMG]

4. LeBlackbird

LeBlackbird Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2009
    SE Pennsylvania
    White ones are commonly roos too

Last edited: Oct 15, 2009
  5. farmerlor