1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can anyone tell me how many chickens I can have for my coop and run size

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Justplainchickn, Feb 14, 2015.

1. Justplainchickn

Justplainchickn Out Of The Brooder

Nov 9, 2014
    Colorado
    This is my first year getting chickens and we built our coop but now I am wondering how many chickens will fit. I have heard so many standards on how many square feet in coop and in the run per chicken but I of course i had to add a twist to it. I am wanting to get 2 Easter Eggers (standard) and I would like to have 2-3 Bantam Silkies. I know both do well with being in a run (from what I have read) and don't require a lot of space but I also don't want them to feel "cooped up". I will let them out daily in the yard and garden when I am home from work but otherwise they will be in there run for the first part of the day. My chicken coop is 4'x4'x 4 1/2' (tall) and the run is 8'x4' and 41/2' tall. Please help me out the chickens I want come in to the feed and supply store on the 27th. thank you[​IMG]

2. Cats Critters

Cats Critters Completely Indecisive