Can anyone tell me the breeds of my chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by luvfurnfeathers, Nov 17, 2013.

1. luvfurnfeathers

luvfurnfeathers Out Of The Brooder

Nov 17, 2013
    Hi
    I live from northeast Pa.
    I am married and have 2 dogs and 1 cat (2 rescues 1 stray) and now 4 hens and 1 rooster.

I am very new to raising chickens. Got a coop, fenced in a nice area for them, went to a friends farm and took 4 girls (all different breeds) and Rosco Jr the rooster who doesn't get along with the other roosters.

I have no idea on any of their breeds just that it was love at first sight. I got them in June and the summer went well, I had one sneezing and weezing last month ( she is the one that never lays eggs she may be to old), got on BYC and read up what could be wrong, got her on Tetroxy for 10 days and she is back to normal.

I have so much to learn about them, and every time I have a problem I get on BYC and seem to find the answer so I am finally decided to join.

I know I will be asking a lot of questions but my first one is can anyone tell me what breeds my chickens and rooster are? They lay tan to dark brown eggs.
    thanks for any help and for all the help everyone has already given just by posting problems and answers, this is a great place to learn!

[​IMG]

2. LeviS

LeviS Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2012
    North Dakota
    :welcome The red one on the roost looks like a red sex link, the black one maybe a black Australorp, the barred one in front is probably a barred rock, the yellow one is a buff Orpington, and the one in the back is ......seems like a Easter egger rooster to me, but I may be wrong there.

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
  4. [​IMG]

The grey barred one is a Barred Rock, the yellow one is a Buff Orpington, the black one is a Black Australorp, and the red one on the perch is a Rhode Island Red. I don't know what the rooster is.