Can chickens and dogs get along?

Newchickenmammy

In the Brooder
Jul 7, 2020
Hi total newbie here. We have 6 beautiful baby chicks well more like teenagers now. But we also have a lovely little French bulldog and I want to know if anyone has a dog who gets along with their chickens? Is it possible? Only hearing bad story's of dogs injuring chickens?

Hi, I have two Shelties (Shetland Sheepdogs, which some people call miniature Collies). Gracie is 10, Sammy is 2. The chickens are basically lawn furniture to them, except that they like to share the chickens' scratch when we toss it out to them. Also, Gracie keeps coyotes away. I'm hoping Sammy will, too, as he matures. Gracie, when she was younger, used to like to play Bowling for Chickens when she would see them clustered together, but she meant no harm. As soon as they scattered, squawking, she would run off like a naughty child, laughing her head off. The chickens always settled down immediately and paid her no mind. They've always accepted her presence calmly. They know she would never hurt them. Sometimes she finds a hidden nest and carefully brings me the eggs without harming them. I never taught her any of this. She's just an amazing dog that knows the chickens belong to me. They are her "herd" and she watches over them.

They can. It just depends on the dog and training.
Our dog used to chase them.

Attachments

• IMG_20200711_133142.jpg
    IMG_20200711_133142.jpg
    598.5 KB · Views: 4
I must admit that years ago I had a Sheltie that could not be trusted around baby ducks. Although he was beautifully obedience trained other circumstances, if left unattended around ducklings, he just lost his mind and became a homicidal maniac. Jeckyll/Hyde. Sigh.