can chickens get separation anxiety?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sixxchixx, Nov 30, 2010.

1. sixxchixx

sixxchixx Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2010
    Escondido, CA
    heres the scoop.

this is my first year raising chickens... and I LOOOOVE ITTTTTT!!!! but one of my "pullets" turned out to be a roo. hes about 24 weeks old and cockle-doodle-dooing all the time (3am forward) I love the sound but my neighbor is complaining (it is kind of right in her bedroom window). I have put adds out on craigslist and BYC auction (free to good home) but im worried about separating him from his sisters... one little girl in particular follows him around and snuggles up to him every night. I have heard the they get lonely for their friends and can go into a depression.

The reason I ask is because my mother in law offered to take ALL of them (she lives 2 houses down from me) I would still be able to see them everyday (and have the financial pleasure of feeding them too) but i wouldn't have to separate them from eachother. what do Y'all think?

dont worry about it because roos/chickens are fine when moved to a new flock? or surrender all 6 to my DH's mom? my 24 month olds arent even laying yet... I would miss the best part... [​IMG] i feel selfish...

2. turbo13

turbo13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2010
    COEUR D'ALENE IDAHO
    HI I had the same problem. My EE roo started to crow at about 20 wks. He was very close with his EE pullet. I was lucky, my vet took him for me. Now he lives on a farm with 25 hens. His left behind girlfriend seemed lost for about a week,always calling and looking for him.But after that she was fine.Now I'm her roo.all is well.You might try the same thing and ask at the vets office.I was surprised. 2 drs.there wanted him.Good luck

3. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

I wouldn't get rid of my chickens for the sake of a roo!!!!

[​IMG]

4. Imp