Can chickens give cats coccidia?

rowegirl

Chirping
8 Years
Mar 7, 2016
I had three chicks die from coccidiosis. I bought Corid and am treating them and my older flock. They seem like they might be ok. Well, our young cats got a hold of the the 3 chicks that died before I could dispose of them and ate them! Will they get get coccidia from the dead chicks? I feel terrible!

Is it possible? YES.

Is it likely? Not as much.

While Coccidia are present essentially everywhere humans are or have been, the coccidia most likely to infect chickens to a clinically significant degree are all Eimeria family, while those most commonly causing symptoms in cats are Isospora. If your cat has been infected to a degree it can't control on its own, you should know in about two weeks.

I am NOT an expert on poultry illness/injury, and even LESS knowledgeable re: cats, so I make no specific recommendations. Only repeating the state of the knowledge regarding most common varieties of infection in the various species.

Is it possible? YES.

Is it likely? Not as much.

While Coccidia are present essentially everywhere humans are or have been, the coccidia most likely to infect chickens to a clinically significant degree are all Eimeria family, while those most commonly causing symptoms in cats are Isospora. If your cat has been infected to a degree it can't control on its own, you should know in about two weeks.

I am NOT an expert on poultry illness/injury, and even LESS knowledgeable re: cats, so I make no specific recommendations. Only repeating the state of the knowledge regarding most common varieties of infection in the various species.
Thanks for the info. I will keep a close eye on them.