Can chickens have cracked or chopped corn ??? I am new to this !!

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by kbreak, Dec 7, 2011.

1. kbreak

kbreak Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 1, 2011
    Columbia, MS
    Can chickens have cracked or chopped corn mixed in with the layer pellets ? We were feeding crumble (i think this is what it was called) . We now have 2 hens laying daily. My husband picked up feed today and came home with cracked corn and layer pellets. They also free range most of the day. Is this ok for them. Also since I have a couple of hens laying do I need to get oyster shell and put in the coop?
    My husband thinks I am crazy. We have 7 hens and a rooster (or could be 6 and 2). We have a bantam rooster and hen that free range ( they will go in the coop with the big chickens but they are real scared and fly out. Then I have a hen and 6 chicks. Trying to get him to build me another coop and run. I think I may be addicted !!! I want more!!!

2. andrea98

andrea98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    in my barnyard....ohio
    yep that corn is ok for them !! they will love it. i mix it with my crumble & even throw some out in the run , it gives them something to scratch up out there [​IMG]

****yes less corn in their feed****

Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  3. dirtsaver

dirtsaver Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2010
    Northern Kentucky
    Lots of people feed chickens cracked corn. It's ok for them but don't give them more than 5% corn vs. their layer feed per day. Just use the corn as a treat. Once a day throw some corn out in the run or yard and let them go for it.

As for oyster shell, we keep it available free choice all the time. Any good layer feed should have calcium in it for layers but some chickens may need more so it never hurts to have oyster shell there for them.

4. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens