can freshly laid eggs be put in an incubator?

showjumper_girl2002

Songster
8 Years
Jun 20, 2011
Florida
my dad's muscovy has started laying eggs again. she's not brooding yet because she's only laid 4 so far and laying about 1 a day so isn't ready to brood just yet. my question is can i start taking any of the eggs and incubate them or do i wait and take them when she starts brooding? basically, can an egg that has been freshly laid (a few days) but not being sat on full time yet be taken and put in an incubator? it's my first time doing this and i want to get everything right so i have the best chance for them to hatch
big_smile.png

The answer is YES! Eggs are always best when freshest - for eating and incubating.
smile.png
Though I've read not to put a "just laid egg" inside the bator - give it a few hours at least, maybe even 6 to be safe. If you start collecting the eggs, keep them in a cool, humid place (basements work great for this) fat end up in an egg carton. Tilt the carton 3x a day by sticking a rolled up washcloth or book under one side and alternating. Easy peasy.

Good luck and happy hatching!
smile.png

Last edited:
Yes, fresher the better. You can place 1 or 24 eggs in. I like to collect 5 before setting them, just to make sure I get enough babies that I don't need to buy a friend if only one hatches.

Try not to stagger the hatch too badly, within a day or two is fine, but a week or more can cause lockdown and hatching problems. For example, collect 5, then also place egg 6 and 7 in there. Mark them with the hatch date, 7/14 for example. So you would have 5 eggs marked 7/14, one with 7/15, one with 7/16. If you go for collecting another 5 and then set those as well, they'll be another week behind and things can go down hill.