Can I incubate Pullet eggs?.....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sunny Girl, Sep 16, 2008.

1. Sunny Girl

Sunny Girl Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2008
    Logan, Utah
    OK all you hatching experts....Can I incubate Pullet eggs?Pullet eggs seem so much smaller and I was wondering if they will hatch healthy chicks? They are fertle, and we want to give them a try in the incubator.
    Is this a good idea? The cochin eggs are especially small. Has anyone tried and how was the outcome?

2. morelcabin

morelcabin Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2007
    Ontario Canada
    I wouldn't. I'm not saying they won't hatch, because they can...but you are creating a very weak genetic line in the process and I believe that anyone who breeds should breed for health above all else

3. cqranch

cqranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 26, 2008
    Russellville
    I'm not sure how it would affect the hatching, since I'm a newbie with the bator, but the pullet eggs that I've used for eating seem to have alot tuffer membrane, was difficult for me to even crack them. Just didn't know if that would make it harder for a chick to hatch???

4. Akane

Akane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 15, 2008
    I don't think weak genetics would be a factor. The genetics the bird produces shouldn't change with age. The eggs though tend to have issues and I suppose as a result the chicks could have physical problems. At minimum the eggs are a smaller size and often odd shape which can cause difficulties for the chick while hatching. Sometimes just plain weird things can go wrong when chickens first start laying eggs. I know some people have gotten ok hatches from pullet eggs but mine hatched 2 out of 24. I wouldn't bother.

5. Pine Grove

Pine Grove Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2007
    Lakeland, Ga