1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can I just get a basic rundown of proper diet, for a total newbie?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by SmittenChickens, Sep 16, 2012.

1. SmittenChickens

SmittenChickens Out Of The Brooder

Sep 7, 2012
    I've been researching diets for chickens and I'm so overwhelmed!

Do they need pellets or crumbles AND corn? What about "scratch", and what IS scratch exactly?

Do you feed them ad lib, as much as they want? Or will they overeat, so you have to give them set portions?

Do they have to be weaned from one food to another gradually, can chickens get upset stomachs like other animals if switched food abruptly?

Can you just give them human food leftovers whenever, is it good for them?

What about calcium or giving them eggshells or something? Do I buy that in a store or how does that work?

Help! LOL!

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Visit the learning center for good information on feeding chickens throughout their life.

3. SmittenChickens

Sep 7, 2012
    I'm not seeing an answer to any of my questions in the Learning Center, am I missing something? [​IMG]

4. blondiebee181

blondiebee181 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2012
    Boise, ID
    If you have week-olds to about 16 weeks you need to be feeding starter crumbles either medicated or non-medicated. Starter is known as a "complete feed" as in, they don't need anything but starter for 16 weeks and water of course.

Scratch is another name for "cracked corn" and sometimes may have other grain mixed in. It should only be used as a treat as it has little to no nutritional value.