1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

can I keep running ducks with my chickens?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jessica32, Jan 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jessica32

jessica32 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 16, 2010
    Hello forum-

I'm in my 3rd year of chicken keeping and have been very tempted to get 2 running duck pullets this season. I don't really know anything about ducks though. Of course I will do some major reasearch before I get any, but before I get past the dreaming stage, I wonder if it is okay to keep ducks and chickens together? Do ducks need to have a pond? Can two ducks live in harmony with about 30 hens and 2 roosters? Can I raise the babies together? Will they eat the same food? Anyone who is willing to offer some knowledge would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

2. Copper Kettle Farm

Copper Kettle Farm Out Of The Brooder

Oct 24, 2010
    My muscovies bullied the chickens, so they were separated. King Tut, my Egyptian Famoumi escaped one day (imagine that!) and the ducks tore him to pieces! His comb, and waddles were bloodied. There was so much blood on his chest , I thought my beagle attacked him. I know runner ducks are a smaller breed, but...I would be careful. Mallards bickered with the chickens too.
    They were fed starter feed and were housed in the same cage. The ducks grew larger and faster than the chickens, and eventually were separated. While it's important to have a source of water for the ducks to dunk their heads into clear their nostrils, a pond is not necessary. My ducks have a small baby pool, and a cement tub I picked up at Lowe's.

Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  3. Rosebud 18

Rosebud 18 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    middle Tn